Please follow & like us

Sefton Sports Awards 2018

Southport Theatre and Convention Centre was filled with Sefton’s sporting stars and unsung heroes last night (Wednesday, July 11) as Sefton Council celebrated its 18th annual Sefton Sports Awards.

 Organised by Active Sefton in partnership with Sefton Sports Council, the awards celebrate volunteers, coaches, teams or individuals from across the borough who have been successful or shown great tenacity in their sport.

Abigail Bates (highly commended) Disabled Sports Personality

Image 1 of 43

 Over 100 nominations were whittled down to 53 nominees all hoping to walk away with one of the prestigious awards.

 The awards this year welcomed guest speaker, Commonwealth medallist Holly Hibbott, who had encouraging words of wisdom for Sefton’s up and coming sports stars.

 As always the awards recognised some of the boroughs unsung heroes, many of whom dedicated much of their life to sport with little thanks or recognition.

 This year’s winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award, John Henners, has spent almost two decades supporting the swimming club at Bootle Leisure Centre even while battling serious illness. His passion for swimming has encouraged his students to compete regionally and nationally, with one talented student going on to swim for Team GB in the Paralympics.

 Cllr Ian Moncur, Sefton Council’s Cabinet Member for Health and Wellbeing, was at the stunning event. He said: “Each year I continue to be blown away by the achievements and dedication of both the winners and nominees.

 “It is thanks to these people, clubs, teams and schools that grassroots sport has a place in Sefton and our young people are inspired and supported when following their sporting ambitions.

 “Congratulations to all of last night’s winners and thank you for your commitment to sport in Sefton!”

 The winners of last night’s awards are as follows:

  • Primary School of the Year – St Patricks Catholic Primary School
  • Secondary School of the Year – Formby High School
  • Supporter of the Year – T.E.A.M Sefton
  • Club of the Year – Crosby Stuart JFC
  • Coach of the Year – Sid Siadankay (North Merseyside Amateur Boxing Club)
  • The Richard McGrath Award – Kyle Taylor
  • The Richard McGrath Special Award – Ann Taylor
  • Sports Club Volunteer of the Year – Lee Taylor (Sefton Sea Cadets)
  • Young Volunteer of the Year – Alexandra Webb (Winwood Netball Club)
  • School Team of the Year – Formby High Boys Junior Cross Country and Running Team
  • Team of the Year- Friends of Moorside Park Run Club
  • Junior Male Sports Personality of the Year – Sam Cooper, Competitive Dinghy Sailor, West Lancashire Yacht Club
  • Junior Female Sports Personality of the Year – Francesca Pivaro, Unite Martial Arts
  • Disabled Sports Personality of the Year – Tash Simpkin-Watkinson
  • Male Sports Personality of the Year – Tommy Fleetwood
  • Female Sports Personality of the Year – Holly Hibbott
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – John Henners
  • Services to Sport- Tina Pilkington